Building open from 10am – 12 noon
A five-storey red-brick building designed by William J. Fennell for Robert Watson & Co., cabinet makers and upholsterers. The furniture showroom and factory building was built by James Kidd in two phases. The front four-storey section at Library Square (including the tower) was completed in 1898 and the rear five storey section at Union Street was completed in 1907.
R. Watson & Co. occupied Library House, as it was known, until closing in the late 1960s. The building was acquired by Gracemount Enterprises Ltd in the 1970s and refurbished and converted to leisure uses in 1983. The Frames Complex operated primarily as a snooker hall, including a licensed premises and amusement arcade.
Get a look inside this iconic city centre building and hear about plans for its development.