Sitting adjacent the iconic Lanyon Building is the former Lynn Library, designed by W.H. Lynn and now beautifully restored as the QUB Graduate School. Completed in 1868 the building was later extended by Lynn in 1910 and a number of alterations, including the insertion of a mezzanine, were completed during the 1950s and 1980s. Following an extensive refurbishment project led by Consarc Conservation the building reopened in April this year to provide a new hub for postgraduate students. Don’t miss an opportunity to admire this impressive building from within.
Main Site Tower
The redevelopment of the former Library Tower as a prestigious new home for the School of Law and a new social hub involves retention of part of the Tower’s structural frame and removal of the three upper floors. A new three-storey building will connect the refurbished Tower and the Peter Froggatt Centre (PFC), effectively creating a single building, within which a series of central atrium spaces will provide light and natural ventilation. School of Law staff and student facilities are on the upper floors, while the ground floor offers a hub providing social and informal group study space and a café. This is designed to be a vibrant “destination” for both students and staff.